internal page banner image

Avoiding A Conviction When You Are A First Time Offender

In NJ, there are three (3) diversion programs that allow an individual to avoid prosecution for a disorderly persons offense, as well as certain indictable crimes (i.e. Superior Court Charges).  Eligibility for these programs is limited to first time offenders. The first program is conditional discharge. Conditional discharge applies in cases involving simple possession of marijuana (i.e. less than 50 grams) or hashish, and drug paraphernalia cases. Eligibility for the conditional discharge Read More...

Driving Without a License in New Jersey

Driving without a license in New Jersey can include fines up to $500 and imprisonment for up to sixty days.  Juveniles or other people who have never been licensed to drive can expect a minimum fine of $200 and a six month hold on receiving a New Jersey driver’s license once they are eligible.  With penalties like that, why chance a conviction? Beating Your Charges If you think your chances of getting pulled over are slim – think again.  New Jersey, along with many other states, has the abilit Read More...

New Jersey Point System For Traffic Violations

If you receive a traffic violation or ticket in New Jersey, you will not only have to pay fines, but you will have points added to your driver’s license and driving record. The points system is used to track habitual offenders and prevent abuse from those with a history of traffic violations, but it can seriously affect your driving privileges and insurance rates. The points are usually given in increments of 2 to 8 depending on the violation. Points can only be added to your license for m Read More...

Careless Driving Laws in New Jersey

When most people think of careless driving, they usually think of aggressive driving, such as excessive speeding, running red lights, and tailgating the car in front of them. But did you know that careless driving isn't just ‘aggressive driving’? It’s a lot of things.Here’s a sample list of some obvious and some not-so-obvious New Jersey careless driving violations which can land you a ticket, a fine or even jail time:   Running a red light Rolling through a stop sign Turning a co Read More...

Expunge Your Criminal Record in New Jersey

Tired of your criminal record following you every day of your life? You've learned your lesson and have been on the straight and narrow for quite some time, but you can’t shake your past and it comes back to haunt you just about every time you fill out a form, try to get a job or move into a new place – because they always want to know if you have a criminal record and there’s no way around the question. The good news is that it is possible to have your New Jersey criminal record expunged. How to Read More...

New Jersey Speeding Laws

Speeding is speeding, right?  For the most part, that’s true, but I bet there’s a few things about New Jersey speeding laws that you didn’t know. For instance, did you know that in light of New Jersey’s basic speeding law, you can still be issued a speeding ticket even when you are driving the speed limit if this speed is deemed unsafe for certain weather conditions, traffic conditions, or other miscellaneous factors or hazards?  Did you also know that New Jersey is well known for its speeding la Read More...

Should I Contest my New Jersey Traffic Ticket?

To a certain extent, the traffic court system across America remains intact because people are hesitant to challenge its authority; yet, the truth of the matter remains that courts really only have a capacity to hear approximately one-tenth of all traffic tickets that are issued. They rely heavily on the fact that most people will simply pay the fine and move on. This unbalanced scenario obviously begs the question, “Should I contest my New Jersey traffic ticket?” Challenging The System The app Read More...