The points are usually given in increments of 2 to 8 depending on the violation. Points can only be added to your license for moving violations, not parking tickets. The worse the offense, the more points will be added to your record. Be sure to discuss your options with an experienced attorney to fully understand the effects points can have on your life.
How Many Points Before I Have to Pay?
If you have received a total of 6 points within a 3 year time frame, you will be assessed a surcharge of $150. This charge will be in addition to any other fines for the individual offenses. After receiving 12 points, your license will be suspended. Other costs associated with points may be added by your insurance carrier, as they have access to your driving record and the NJ points system.
Points System Values
The full schedule of the New Jersey Points System is an extensive list, but a few examples of how points are assigned for common infractions include:
- Failure to keep right: 2
- Failure to stop at a stop sign or red traffic light: 2
- Failure to stop for pedestrians: 2
- Improper passing: 4
- Tailgating: 5
- Speeding (1-14mph over limit): 2
- Speeding (15-29mph over limit): 4
- Speeding (30+mph over limit): 5
How Can I Reduce My Points?
Points are only awarded after a conviction. When you receive a traffic ticket, if you pay the fine, you are agreeing to your guilt and convictions, therefore you will receive points on your license.
Depending on your driving record, some municipalities will allow you to reduce your offense, resulting in fewer points. To do this, you must carefully read your ticket and show up at the appointed court location on the written date and time on your ticket to argue for dismissal or a lesser offense. An experienced lawyer can help you determine your best course of action for this kind of reduction.
Another way to reduce points is to attend one of the driving programs related to your offense. You may use attendance in such a program only once every 2 to 5 years depending on the program. This program can subtract 2 or 3 points off your license.
Points will automatically come off your license if you remain free of any violations for a period of one year. Each year without a violation will reduce 3 points from your record.
A Good Attorney Can Help You Keep Your License and Reduce Points
Fines, insurance surcharges, points and license suspension can all drastically affect your way of life. Do not blindly admit fault for a moving violation or it could be too late to undo the damage.
Contact the experienced team of Essex County Criminal Defense Attorneys in any of our nine New Jersey locations for help. We offer a free initial consultation for new clients and will work with you to ensure you keep your driving record at its best possible rating.